Mine Replica

Mine replica and Fluorescent display
Mine replica during Halloween
Mine replica
Mine replica
Mine replica
Arrow
Arrow
Mine replica building

The museum also has a life-size mine replica that shows the visitor examples of mining methods used in the Franklin mines.

The mine replica is housed in the original engine house that was built on this site in 1895 to provide steam power for mining efforts in the Buckwheat pit across the road from the Museum. In later years the building was repurposed by the New Jersey Zinc Company, which constructed a replica of underground mine passages and stopes as a training facility for its miners.

Today the mine replica remains as a testament to the pride and dedication of the Franklin community to preserve the memory of its heritage. Step back in history and sense what it was like here so many decades ago…